Skip Navigation

Home  |  Sitemap  |  Contact Us Jersey Village Facebook Jersey Village Twitter

Driving Safety Course

Do Not Take the Driving Safety Course Without Approval from the Court!

A defendant may request a Driving Safety Course if the following criteria is met:
Must not have taken a driving safety course within the 12 months preceding the date of the current offense.

A plea of guilty or no contest is required when the request is made.  REQUEST FOR A DRIVING SAFETY COURSE must be made on or before the initial appearance date listed on the citation.

Must have a Valid Texas Driver’s License or Permit . Copy must be mailed with request.

Present Proof of Financial Responsibility.  Your name must be listed on the policy. Copy must be mailed with request.

Pay Court Cost in the amount of $109.00 or $134.00 if the offense was committed in a school zone.  Must be mailed with request. No Personal Checks Accepted.

You will be notified by mail of paperwork due date; however, the 90 days begins the day the court receives the above mentioned paperwork and payment.  REMEMBER THE REQUEST MUST BE MADE ON OR BEFORE THE INITIAL APPEARANCE DATE LISTED ON THE CITATION. The Court defers imposition of the judgment for 90 days. The defendant must take the course and present the SIGNED COURT COPY of the course completion certificate by the 90th day. Defendant is also required to present to the court a certified copy of his/her driving record as maintained by DPS by the 90th day.  Individuals may request driving records through the mail by submitting a DR-1 form or by using the DPS online services. Under Subsection (u), the defendant’s driving record and affidavit are required to show that defendant did not have specialized DSC within the 12 months preceding the date of the current offense.

Request may be in person or in writing. If mailed, request must be sent certified mail. (Art. 45.0511(b)(3), C.C.P.)
If all terms are not met within the 90 day period:
If defendant fails to furnish the evidence within the 90th day after the request, the court shall set a show cause hearing and notify the person by mail.  The court does not have to accept late paperwork.  If late paperwork is not accepted, the court shall enter a final judgment ordering the defendant to pay the fine of $200.00.

The defendant may waive his/her right to the show cause hearing by contacting the court for instructions. By waiving his/her right to the show cause hearing, the court shall enter a final judgment ordering the defendant to pay the fine of $200.00.  If a defendant does not waive his/her right to a show cause hearing and fails to appear at the show cause hearing, the court may, after signing a final judgment, issue a capias pro fine warrant.

If you are under age 17, you must appear in open court with a parent or legal guardian to make the request.
You Do Not Qualify for DSC If:
  • Offenses committed in a construction work maintenance zone when workers are present, Sec. 542.404, T.C.; Art. 45.0511(p)(3), C.C.P.;
  • Traffic offenses committed by a person with a commercial driver’s license, Art. 45.0511(s), C.C.P.;
  • Passing a school bus, Sec. 545.066, T.C.;
  • Leaving the scene of an accident, Sec. 550.022 or 550.023, T.C.; or
  • Speeding 25 mph or more over the limit or in excess of 95 m.p.h. Art. 45.0511(b)(5), C.C.P.

Jersey Village Logo

City of Jersey Village
16327 Lakeview Dr.
Jersey Village, Texas 77040
(713) 466-2100
Web Policy

Jersey Village Fire Department Facebook Jersey Village Fire Department Twitter

Jersey Village Police Department
17401 Lakeview Drive
Jersey Village 77040
(713) 466-2119
Contact Us

Jersey Village Facebook Jersey Village Twitter

Jersey Village Fire Department
16501 Jersey Drive
Jersey Village, Texas 77040
(713) 466-2130
Contact Us

Jersey Village Police Facebook

Copyright © City of Jersey Village, Texas  {{Year}}. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM